A Certain Romance

It’s May 24th, 2007. I’m in Atlanta with this girl. I work with her. Our first date was to see 300. She spent the entire movie covering her eyes. I find out later the sight of blood is not something she’s a fan of. She likes 99 Bananas vodka, has an infectious laugh, and has the prettiest eyes I’ve ever seen.

So I’m in Atlanta. At the Tabernacle. Seeing a band I really don’t care about. But the thing is- she’s absolutely insane about them. I’d never seen her this happy. I’ve only known her for a few months, but I can tell this is a major, major event.

There’s a moment at the end of the show, though. A moment when it all clicks. A moment when the song kicks in and she turns and smiles to me. And I can almost feel the world being perfectly aligned on its axis. The best thing is that I happened to have my iPhone 3GS recording when this happened. This is one of my favorite videos because I will always remember how this felt. Skip ahead to about 1:40 if you are impatient.

22 months after this video we got married. 6 months after that we started bham.fm. This is not a post full of information about tomorrow night’s Arctic Monkeys show. But you should know there will be two people in the audience who will be very, very happy about seeing them in Birmingham.

Finally, I found the picture I took of her on the way home.

2007_0524w0050

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can’t have her. She’s mine.

7 thoughts on “A Certain Romance

Leave a Reply

